Community Conversation: How do we practice anti-consumerism in the Christmas season?

Community Conversation: How do we practice anti-consumerism in the Christmas season?

Kateri Boucher and Lydia Wylie-Kellermann

Details & Online Registration

Program information

 Tuesday December 13, 8-9pm EST, 7pm CST, 6pm MST, 5pm PST

Facilitators: Kateri Boucher and Lydia Wylie-Kellermann

This program is a collaboration between Geez magazine and Kirkridge Retreat and Study Center.

It’s Christmastime again! Which means the ads are popping, the Christmas music has been playing for months, malls are crowded, debt is climbing, and folks are often exhausted. What practices are you holding to resist the consumerism of Christmas? What anti-capitalist traditions do you hold dear? Let’s share ideas for how you are honoring the darkness, making Christmas presents, and walking in the woods!

Community conversations are monthly gatherings for kindred spirits to sit around the zoom table asking questions, sharing struggles, laughing, imagining, and building community. The events are loosely facilitated and guided from the provocative questions raised by our communities. 

Geez magazine is a quarterly, non-profit, ad-free, print magazine at the intersection of art, activism, and spirit. At best, we offer a prophetic and provocative voice to the institutional church and a pastoral presence to those laboring at the front lines of social change.

Since 1942, Kirkridge Retreat and Study Center has provided a place for rest, renewal, and prophetic imagination to communities laboring for justice. These sacred grounds hold generations of stories. We are located on Lenape land on a ridge of the beautiful Kittatinny Ridge of Northeast Pennsylvania. 

This conversation is free and welcome to all! We are so grateful for our communities that continue to keep us going financially. If you would like to give a contribution to either organization, we would be so grateful. 

Donate to Geez. Donate to Kirkridge.

Join Our Kirkridge Newsletter


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Kirkridge Retreat Center, 2495 Fox Gap Road, Bangor, PA, 18013, http://kirkridge.org. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

Copyright © 2022 Kirkridge Retreat and Study Center • web design by macromarsh

Newsletter Signup

Join Our Kirkridge Newsletter


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Kirkridge Retreat Center, 2495 Fox Gap Road, Bangor, PA, 18013, http://kirkridge.org. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact